Time travelling with Luxembourg's best castles
With almost 100 castles and ruins spread across the country, the Grand-Duchy has a rich history, with some ruins date back to as early as the 10th Century. Wort lists the top 13 castles and ruins that will transport visitors back in time.
Wandering through the streets of Luxembourg City, sooner or later one ends up in front of the Grand-Ducal palace at the Marché aux Herbes. While its facade bears impressive elements of the Flemish Renaissance, the main tourist attraction are the soldiers who, since 1966, march up and down whilst guarding the palace.
During the summer season, the palace opens its doors, offering guided tours which give an insight into the palace's interior. Among the rooms open to the public are the Yellow Room from which the Grand-Duke's yearly Christmas message is broadcast.
For more information, visit monarchie.lu
With the oldest part of the castle dating back to the 11th century, Beaufort castle is a piece of national history. After the Thirty Year's war in the 17th century, the castle was left in ruins. Since 1981, it is owned by the Luxembourg State. The medieval castle is open to visitors every day from Easter until November from 9am to 4pm.
For more information, visit chateau-beaufort.lu
When you find yourself in the north of the country, it is well worth visiting the Clervaux castle, not only for its impressive appearance but also for Edward Steichen's documentary art photography exhibition “The Family of Man”.
First exhibited at the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the art collection was gifted to the Grand-Duchy in the 1960s, according to Steichen's wish to have the 'most important work of his life' hosted in his home country.
For more information, visit destination-clervaux.lu
Constructed in 1745, the Bock Casemates is an underground network of tunnels of which still 17 kilometres remain to this day. In 1994, UNESCO listed the Bock Casemates as a World Heritage feature due to its rich and impressive history. The casemates are open to visitors from March 1- October 31, from 10am -5pm.
For more information, visit lcto.lu
As one of the main attractions in northern Luxembourg, the Vianden castle is a hotspot for many tourists and residents. Built between the 11th and the 14th century and more recently restored, the castle is a piece of history, incorporating characteristics from the Romanesque and Gothic period.
With a long list of admirers, Vianden has welcomed many great names such as the French poet Victor Hugo, who lived in the castle for three months. During the summer season, Vianden castle hosts the yearly Medieval festival, taking the visitors back into time while offering a varied programme.
For more information, visit castle-vianden.lu
In 1982, the association “Friends of Bourglinster Castle” was founded which, since then, organises the Bourglinster Music Festival in the historical castle, offering a vast programme of exhibitions, concerts and lectures. Moreover, art workshops are held in the castle and a renowned restaurant is located within its walls. Guided tours are available on request all year around.
For more information, visit bourglinster.lu
Built in the north east of Luxembourg in the year 1000, Bourscheid castle is triangular in shape, situated on a steep promontory some 150 metres above the Sûre. In 1936 the castle was classified as a national historical monument and a few decades later, in 1972, acquired by the Luxembourg Government.
The castle is open to visitors from April 1- October 31 from 9.30am-6pm, and from October 16- March 31, from 11am-4pm. Guided tours are available on request.
For more information, visit chateau.bourscheid.lu
Today, the ruins of the Esch-sur-Sûre castle still bear elements of the Romanesque and Gothic period during which it was built. Despite several restoration works during the past few centuries, the castle gradually declined since mid 16th Century.
The French poet Victor Hugo paid a visit to the castle in the 19th Century. Today, visitors are welcome to have a look at the ruins, which are open all year around.
For more information, visit nuitdeslegendes.lu
With a deep ditch splitting the former Castle in two, Larochette castle's ruins are open to visitors from March 15 until Pentecost, and from September 1 until October 31, every day from 10am-6pm. During the summer season, guided tours are available every Tuesday.
For more information, visit larochette.eu
The ruins of Useldange Castle remind visitors of a time long gone, dating back as far as the year 1100. The castle is currently being restored by the “Administration des sites et monuments”.
Under the patronage of UNESCO, a trail is being built that will allow partially sighted visitors to explore the castle and its history. The castle is open to visitors all year around.
For more information, visit useldeng.lu
Built in the late 12th Century, today all that remains of Koerich Castle are ruins. This castle demonstrated different architectural influences, with the Witches tower and exterior walls being of a late Romanesque style, while also bearing Gothic elements due to restoration works in the 14th Century. Currently, the ruins are owned by Luxembourg State. The castle is open to visitors all year around.
For more information, visit associationchateaux.lu
Since its construction in the 10th Century, the castle has slowly declined over the past centuries, with only ruins reminding of its former beauty. While the south facade collapsed in 1920, the ruins of Pettingen castle are well worth visiting. Visitors are welcome all year around.
For more information, visit www.mersch.lu
Built in the 12th Century, the castle of Wiltz has a rich history, with the round Witches Tower being the oldest part of the castle today. Since 1950, the castle has hosted the Wiltz festival, offering a vast programme of open air music and theatre.
Additionally, the castle hosts two different museums: the National Brewery Museum and Tannery Museum and the Battle of the Bulge Museum 1944/5. The castle is open to visitors all year around and guided tours are available on request.
For more information, visit wiltz.lu
To discover more days out in the Grand-Duchy, click here